2017 RC Laser Championship of Nations Report


2017 RC Laser Championship of NationsThe RC Laser Championship of Nations was very successfully conducted by host club, Paradise Radio Yacht Club, with a week of extremely competitive yacht racing involving 56 competitors from 8 countries; Australia, New Zealand, United Kingdom Germany, South Africa, Czech Republic, Netherlands, Sweden.

The RC Laser Championship of Nations had only previously been contested on two occasions, 2013 in UK and 2015 in Holland.

With a week of unusual and unseasonal weather which produced incessant raining days and strong to very strong southerly winds, 68 races were started and completed without any complications or damage to competitor yachts, support vessels or event infrastructure. The sport of Radio Control Yacht Racing, Paradise Radio Yacht Club and the Gold Coast being declared clear winners by all in the accolade stakes.

The yachting regatta resulted in an Australian domination of the RC Laser Championship of Nations event with 1st, 2nd and 3rd placings going to entrants from Victoria, South Australia and Queensland respectively.

Age awards were made for Masters (50 – 59 yrs), Grand Master (60 – 69 yrs) and Great Grand Master (70+). Winners of these categories were from NZ, NSW and Gold Coast respectively. A best Australian cumulative team award went to South Australia.

The week’s activities commenced on Monday 6th November with boat registrations and scrutineering followed by an organised afternoon of practice.

An official welcome event held at Lakeside Bistro followed in the evening,  with PRYC Commodore Allan Walker welcoming all competitors, partners, friends and family. Sponsors; Radio Control Sailing Australia, RACV Royal Pines, Royal Woods Resort, Mercure Resort, Thrifty Car Rentals, Gloria Jeans and The Burleigh Fish Mongers were acknowledged.

An organised pause in the event program took place at the 11th hour on the 11th day of the 11th month when all present took part in a special Remembrance Day Ceremony.

The week finished with a presentation evening and dinner at the Lakeside Bistro where video of racing was continuously screened, flags of competing Nations presented to relevant countrymen as keepsakes and trophies presented to all winners who responded to the accolades of all present.

Special thanks to the myriad of volunteers without whom the event could not have succeeded, the catering team who served over 400 lunches and kept all present topped up with water and fruit, and our Remembrance Day ceremony organisers.

From: Allan Walker, Commodore PRYC

Check out the photos from the RC Laser Championship of Nations here 

2017 RC Laser Championship of Nations Results

Championship of Nations winner Scott Fleming (Vic)

Championship of Nations 2nd place Scott Mitchel (SA)

Championship of Nations 3rd place Malcolm Kampe (QLD)

Great Grandmaster title winner Peter Burford (QLD)

Grandmaster title winner Graham Brown (NSW)

Master title winner Graham Watson (NZ)

State Shield winner South Australia

2017 RC Laseer Championship of Nations results

No comments have been made. Use this form to start the conversation :)

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: